Molly Kool’s Legacy

Born in 1916, Molly Kool became the first licensed female Master Mariner (sea captain) on May 25, 1939. When asked of the significance of this event, she responded that it was the Great Depression, her father had a small vessel and she “needed a job”. Despite having the required sea time and passing all of her courses at navigation school in Yarmouth, she was delayed in receiving her masters since there was no “she” in the Canada Shipping Act.

This award is made possible thanks to the support and partnership of Resurgo Place and Armour Transport Systems.

Molly Kool Award Recipients

Cheryl Anderson (2023)

Angela MacDougall (2022)

Michelle Larsen (2021)

Debbie Wiggins-Colwell (2019)

Dawne McLean (2018)

Harriet Gratian (2017)

Moranda VanGeest (2016)

Beth McLaughlin (Posthumous)(2015)

Barbara Gebuhr (2015)

Brenda P. Orr (2014)